Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Stop signs and Red Lights

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Ok, I'm a newbie. In fact, delivery in two days. One thing I don't quite understand is why the autopilot suite does not brake for stop signs and traffic lights. The cam should pick them up. The only theory I can come up with is a possible problem from such items oriented in a confusing way at intersections at acute angles, vs right angles.
Does anyone have any info as to why the cam won't recognize and respond to these? Just curious. Was hoping for it in 8.0.
Drive Safe

It can probably see stop signs (they aren't that different from speed limit signs), but the consequences of missing a stop sign are much higher. I think they made a decision to avoid that trouble by not trying to stop at stop signs.

Perhaps they could just include a Stop Sign icon on the dash as you are approaching (it could even get bigger as you get closer to the sign), then it would just be informational, and wouldn't have a risk of autopilot running the sign if for whatever reason the camera didn't see it. Not sure that would be any help (unless you were looking at the instrument cluster instead of the road).

The camera most definitely sees stop signs and traffic lights. You can watch a Mobileye video demonstrating the exact chip in the Model S and all of the features it detects. It's a lot of stuff. (I don't have the link--maybe someone here will supply it).

I think it may come sometime. Not as a primary "let us stop for you" thing (who knows if a bush obscures 80% of a stop sign preventing its recognition), but perhaps as a safety backup...meaning it will stop the car *if* it sees the light/sign and you don't appear to be stopping for it.