Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Tesla: The real out of warranty costs

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Great video.. I actually have a lot of the same worries about my model s for when it is out of warranty. So far dealing with the service center has been a terrible experience for my 3 month old model S and I'm coming from a only owning Japanese cars so I'm pretty shocked about how poorly my model S is put together.

I've had mine four years and my service center experience has been nothing short of exceptional. The car has also been rock solid. I'm knocking wood now that it's out of warranty so if costly repairs hit me I'll report back.

I'm coming from a only owning Japanese cars so I'm pretty shocked about how poorly my model S is put together.

The only Japanese car I've owned is my Nissan Leaf and mine has required a lot more service than my Tesla. To top it off, I was just quoted $1,200 to upgrade from 2G to 3G. Tesla charged me $500 to go from 3G to LTE.

I find this hard to believe or you got a lemon. My Leaf along with pretty much all of the “original” 2011and early adopters had zero issues with the car (especially here in SoCal which was the largest first batch of deliveries). Even after we hacked and modified the car to crazy levels they never dropped a beat!

Unlike the S and their flaky drivetrain and CAN bus system. How many motors and revisions has Tesla gone through?

Leafs are pushing 150-200k and still dead quiet. How many 1st gen S/Rav motors can even hit 30k without screaming and whining?

My Rav is at 60k and on its 3rd motor. Lol

I've had mine four years and my service center experience has been nothing short of exceptional. The car has also been rock solid. I'm knocking wood now that it's out of warranty so if costly repairs hit me I'll report back.