Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

What is the most amazing thing about your Tesla

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
As a new owner (one month), I am still learning about my car. That, in itself is rather amazing, as every other car I have owned, I felt I knew in a matter of days.

What has amazed me the most is what I have found on this forum. I am amused by the people who worry about the color of their wheels, or whether they can beat a Lambo at a traffic light, or how the car handles 10,000 songs on a flash drive. Nothing wrong with those things.

I am mid sixties, I have owned some nice cars through the years, Porsche, MB, Lotus, and NSX, among others. In fact, we sold the NSX to clear cash and garage space for our Model S. At my age, as much fun as the NSX was to drive, it wasn't the most comfortable car to crawl into and out of. And I can't remember the last time I even shared a traffic light with a Lambo. I just like the tech, the safety, the totally adequate performance for my lifestyle of my Model S 60, and the AP. (Even AP1, though I hope to move up to the next level in a few years, as I can easily imagine my skills will diminish with time.)

The thing that amazes me about all this is that this one car appeals to people in both of these camps. THAT is amazing. What other car can do that?

The most amazing thing: the drivetrain.

This morning I was on Interstate 5 south going up the grade into the Tehachapi Mountains. It is a very steep grade. The Model S can take the grade at any speed and make it feel effortless. I set the cruise control at 70mph, sit back, and watch every other vehicle recede in the rear view mirror. The car is just as quiet as if it is on a level road.

No ICE vehicle can match that.

I've had my MS for 2 weeks and the things I love are:
1. How the handles present themselves. It's just so inviting and almost human like