Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Least expensive charging option better than 110

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
What might the least expensive option be for charging my MY that's better than 110V, 15A? I'm likely selling my home and had planned to use local plugshare options but I've decided riding my bike back and forth is unreasonable - especially in the rain :) (the closest plugshare is 15 miles; no superchargers within reason). I have an electric dryer outlet that I can give up (I have a gas dryer available) but the distance to the car is 60 feet. The distance from the closest side-of-house is 30 feet. If it's possible to run a line below the deck then 15 feet. There is no garage and I don't want to pay for trenching to the driveway for sure. Obviously I am not an electrician. Ideas?

Well, anything 240V is better than anything 110V. And anything you already have is better than anything you might install.

The dryer outlet is probably your best bet. But, I think extension cords are a no-no for stead EV charging. One option... you could install a hardwire extension run from that dryer outlet to the garage and then mount another 14-50 outlet in the garage. You would just need to get approved wire and conduit (if needed).

You could maybe upgrade the 120V outlet to 240V, but you'd have to be sure there were no other outlets on that circuit. As was mentioned, you might also have the ability to install a 20A outlet on the current 120V line(in fact it may already be 20A, check if one of the two spade holes is actually T shaped, which indicates its 20A).