TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Map discrepancies on main GUI vs dash

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by zelig2, Mar 6, 2017.

  1. zelig2

    zelig2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    I've noticed while driving around my neighborhood there are roads that show up on the google maps view on the main screen but they don't show up on the dash during navigation. Are they pulling the dash map info from a different source?
     
  2. Max*

    Max* Not Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6,307
    Location:
    NoVa
    The nav (on the IC) is Garmin's Navigon, IIRC.
     
  3. brkaus

    brkaus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,140
    Yes - the center map is live google over the cellular connection. The dash map is built in garmin (updated occasionally, very occasionally). This allows the navigation to work when there is no cellular coverage.

    Good decision or not, that's up for argument.
     
  4. zelig2

    zelig2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Thanks for the info. Doesn't make a lot of sense to me to pay Google and Garmin but that was their decision.

    Does the navigation route come from Garmin and is overlayed onto the Google maps? That would explain a lot of the route choices I get vs what Google/Waze normally give me.
     
  5. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,203
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    The navigation route is from the Navigon ( Navteq ) maps and then plotted onto the Google maps. The Navteq maps are about a year out of date on our vehicles. Also if the camera did not read a speed limit sign, the fallback is the data from the Navteq maps. That is why sometimes the shown speed limit does not match the current speed limit.
     
  6. zelig2

    zelig2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    That makes sense. I guess that means the traffic data from Google isn't used as well. Crossing my fingers for an eventual Waze integration.

    I have HW2 so my cameras don't read the speed limit signs. yet.
     
  7. mrElbe

    mrElbe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,203
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON Canada
    Traffic data from Google is used if you selected re-routing and put in a saving limit. I set mine to not re-route unless it can save me 10 minutes by detouring.
     
  8. bob_p

    bob_p Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,654
    The navigation maps from Garmin/Navigon are supposed to be updated annually, though it appears it's been over 15 months since our car has seen the last update. That navigation maps are used to determine routing - and are displayed on the dashboard while a route is active.

    The console display uses Google maps, which are updated almost immediately (when driving new roads, they show up very quickly on the Google maps, even though it could take a year or two before they show up on the navigation maps). Google provides the satellite maps and the real-time traffic data.

    Tesla is developing a 3rd map database using high definition data captured from the fleet of AP cars - that data will likely help Tesla determine specific lane locations - something neither the Navigon or Google maps (currently) provide. It's unclear how Tesla will integrate this data into the navigation/autopilot systems, or how they'll reconcile the inevitable differences between the 3 map databases, when new roads are added or there are changes (permanent or temporary) to existing roads.
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
  9. Boatguy

    Boatguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    912
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    How can I determine the date of the maps in my car?
     
  10. thimel

    thimel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    There is no way to do so. You get a notification on the 17" screen when a map update has happened.
     
  11. bob_p

    bob_p Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,654
    I have not seen a "map updated" message since late 2015. During the last service appointment, I asked for the maps to be updated to the most recent maps - and I was told by the Service Center our car already had the latest maps (which don't have the new roads in our area).

    The Service Center can check - though they may not give you a date or map version number.
     
    • Informative x 1

Share This Page