Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model 3 SR+ losing range while parked (29 KMs per 12 hrs)

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I know this question probably must have been asked previously, but I can’t seem to find post relevant to weather in Toronto Canada

I am fairly new to Tesla, took the delivery of my model 3 SR+ on July 20 and been using the vehicle since then. Based on my Past week's experience I observed that my model 3 SR+ is losing battery at the rate of about 2 KMs per hr while parked. Is this normal ? I park my car at the Go train station near my home daily for about 12 hrs. Everyday it is losing about 29 KMs (approx 2 KMs per hr). The conditions when I park are as below

Sentry Mode : On
Car is parked in the sun : avg day time temp high in Toronto suburbs is around 31 degree Celsius, so I have observed cabin temp goes to max 35 in the afternoon. Tesla manual says climate control kicks off if cabin temp goes above 40 degree cencious
I stopped watching the car status on the Tesla App since past Wed and only check in the evening before taking return train.
Using TeslaFi since past Wednesday , however has activated sleep mode on TeslaFi

Let me know whether this is normal or do I have some setup missing , this is quite a significant battery range loss for a SR+ that has a limited range (385 KMs when fully charged). Appreciate your inputs and advise

@KenC , thanks for the response, you are correct. I tested this since morning. my car was at home parked in garage with sentry off and the drain was just 3 KMs in 4 hrs. Now I am testing parked on driveway/in the sun and sentry off, temperature is around 32 degrees Celsius , so let's see how much climate control drains

Last edited: