TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

New AP feature (sort of)

Discussion in 'Model S' started by Caligula, May 15, 2016.

  1. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    This may have been mentioned before but we can now engage AP while is car is stopped. Previously, you needed to be off the brake and not be using the hill hold feature in order for AP to engage. For example, if i was stopped in traffic and I wanted to activate AP, I would previously need to let off the brake and creep an inch before double pulling the lever to get AP to activate. Now, it will do so with the brake fully depressed (with the vehicle stopped) or with the hill hold feature activated.

    Win!
     
    • Informative x 1
    • Like x 1
    • Love x 1
  2. chillaban

    chillaban Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I'm gonna guess that a lot of people love using AP in the city as "red light texting assist" so you know once your car starts moving you should put down your phone and pay attention again....
     
    • Like x 5
    • Funny x 1
    • Love x 1
  3. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,116
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Not new. I'm still on 7.0 and I use this feature almost every time I'm driving.
     
  4. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    *whistles softly to himself* ...thats NEVER occured to me. ;)
     
    • Funny x 1
  5. mkjayakumar

    mkjayakumar Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,736
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Really people do that? I wouldn't know. !!
     
    • Funny x 3
  6. Chargerville

    Chargerville Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Supercharger
    If only we could propagate that to every car on the road. How much more efficient intersections would become...
     
  7. MDMGSO47

    MDMGSO47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC USA
    The problem is that if the first guy in the intersection is slow, everyone else will also beslow
     
  8. tstafford

    tstafford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    The issue is when you aren't looking and the dude in front of you turns on red. (Theoretically speaking of course)
     
  9. Superloud

    Superloud Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I recently was second in line at a stop light, waiting to go straight through an intersection. Our straight light was still red, but as soon as the left turn arrow went green for the folks to our left, the car in front of me must have thought it was his light cuz he just gunned it through the intersection. Luckily the oncoming left turn traffic stopped in time!

    AP would suck you along with the car ahead of you in this case.
     
  10. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    AP moves out very slowly from a stop in situations like that. Youd have to be really inattentive for a long period of time for it to cause an issue.
     
  11. RogerHScott

    RogerHScott Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1,350
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    Ok, how do you make this work? I tried today and it just ignored me when I pulled on the TACC stalk.
     
  12. Chargerville

    Chargerville Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Supercharger
    Yes. We need AP to recognize red/green lights.
     
  13. GlmnAlyAirCar

    GlmnAlyAirCar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    Gilbertsville, PA
    Right, it's not new. The one caveat is that you have to be using the feature formerly known as hill-hold to keep you stationary and your foot has to be off the brake pedal.
     
  14. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,866
    Location:
    NoVa
    I think you mean with the brake pedal not pressed (depressed means you push the pedal into the floor).

    If your foot is on the brake pedal, moving or not, you can not activate AP.

    And as others have mentioned, this has been around for a while. And I use it for the exact reasons given (check my phone while at a red light, and not be the idiot left standing when everyone else drives away).
     
  15. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    No, I meant what I said. I may be mistaken, however. Ill try again tonight.
     
  16. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,866
    Location:
    NoVa
    What firmware version are you on?

    After reading your post yesterday, I tried it on my drive home, and while the brake pedal is depressed, AP does not activate for me.
     
  17. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    Whatever the latest one is with the new self park update. Can you check FW version via the app?
     
  18. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,866
    Location:
    NoVa
    I don't think so (could be wrong though).

    I have the latest one too (mine updated a few days ago), but I tried it again last night, and if I depress the break pedal, I can not get AP to engage (everything else works as you stated, and as someone else stated has been around for some time).

    Did you have a chance to retry it?
     
  19. Caligula

    Caligula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    San Diego
    I did, and unfortunately I was incorrect. It didn't engage for me either, hwoever ot works fine with hill hold. I assume i had HH activated last time and didn't realize it.
     
    • Like x 1
  20. Wayneb

    Wayneb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Midlothian, VA
    This is why I read these forums. I thought this would be a nice feature but didn't know about it. Thanks folks!
     

Share This Page