TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

Fuse Box on 2016 S

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by tornado, Jan 11, 2017.

  1. tornado

    tornado Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Seattle-Area
    Hello,
    I have a late-2016 Model S (and a 2013 S which is not pertinent to the current question) that I'm trying to tap into a 12v switched feed. There are no diagrams at all for the fuse boxes in the new Tesla. Don't ask me to check the manual as they haven't included the word fuse at all in the manual.

    After speaking with a fellow at one of the service centers, he said that I could tap into the 20amp accessory outlet in the car front footwell, under the glove box. My question is - has anyone opened up the front passenger side to this effect yet? He said that to get to it I'd need to remove the door sill on the front right door behind the right side footwell and that the fuse block is about the size of a hand.

    I can pull the dash apart relatively easily but I'm curious if anyone's done the footwell area like this (or have any better suggestions). He implied that most of the fuses in the Frunk are reserved for the AP2 stuff and are probably not switched.
    Thanks.
     
  2. tornado

    tornado Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Seattle-Area
    Alternately if I could get into the center console I could tap the 12v accessory port wire from there, but I don't know exactly how to get into the center console. Is there an easy route?
     
  3. tornado

    tornado Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Seattle-Area
    Just pried a bunch of panels off and - answering my own question - yes there's a fuse box, to the right of the passenger footwell (in front of the door). Found the fuse for the accessory outlet - it is the 20 amp one that is leftmost. I will snap a pic before I put it back together if I think of it. I had to pry the sill off to get to it.
     
  4. Spyder14

    Spyder14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Bluffton, SC
    Hi Tornado--I am also checking out the other thread re: this. It's be 9 months & I still can not get an answer re: the layout for the fuses. Un-Effing-Believable! Fremont told me many months ago that it would be included in an update to the e-Manual ASAP. Nope...
     
  5. tornado

    tornado Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Seattle-Area
    Spyder - totally agree! Frustrating!
    Here is the location for that one fuse box, and detail of where the accessory port lives. Hope this helps someone!

    By the way I have a Add-A-Circuit Fuse TAP in that 20 amp port for my radar detector in case you're wondering. The tap is found here:
    http://a.co/1hZEpMj

    Screen Shot 2017-01-15 at 8.51.25 AM.png

    Screenshot_1_15_17__8_52_AM.png
     
    • Informative x 2
  6. Spyder14

    Spyder14 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Bluffton, SC
    Thanks for sharing!
     
  7. SteveW25561

    SteveW25561 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    576
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Wow. Finally we have an answer -- thanks for the pictures.

    Interesting how many high amp fuses there are in this box! Lots of 20 and 25 amp fuses.

    BTW I love the add a circuit taps: they allow you to do stuff without cutting any factory wiring. For others: the orientation is important so if you put it in and the original fused hardware (eg light, etc) isn't working, reverse the orientation. You also need the tiny microfuse size for the new fuseboxes (as linked above).
     
  8. oktane

    oktane Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,423
    Location:
    USA
    What type are the fuses on the 2016 MS? Are they ATR? Any tricks to getting off the door sill plate?
     
  9. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,883
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #9 FlatSix911, Feb 6, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
    Here are the fuse diagrams from the Tesla Service Manual for the Model S Dual Motor ... all model years :cool:

    Battery-Mounted Fusebox Layout.JPG Cabin Fusebox 2 Layout.JPG Cabin Fusebox 1 Layout.JPG Front Fusebox Layout.JPG
     
    • Helpful x 2
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  10. lunitiks

    lunitiks ˭ ˭ ʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽʽ ʭ ʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼʼ ˭ ˭

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,407
    Location:
    Prawn Island
    #10 lunitiks, Feb 6, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
    Uuuh, no? According to the print in the bottom right corner, those schematics cover 2014-models (not 2016, and certainly not ALL model years), am I wrong?

    BTW: Is posting those docs in here totally OK? (Read fine print *next to* the bottom right corner.) No criticizm, just asking
     
  11. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,883
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    The Tesla Service Manual states: Left-Hand Drive, Dual Motor, All years ... prior to 2016 Facelift :cool:
     
  12. oktane

    oktane Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,423
    Location:
    USA
    The boxes and locations of fuses are different for post facelift.
     
  13. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,883
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    :cool:

    2016 Fuse diagram2.JPG 2016 Fuse diagram.JPG
     
    • Informative x 4
  14. oktane

    oktane Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,423
    Location:
    USA
    Love it. Thanks for posting this. :)
     
  15. Patnoqc

    Patnoqc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Quebec
    Hi anyone no if there is a way to make the cornering lights function, I have S 2016 with new front. Can I just plug a fuse in the slot or I need reprogramming? Thanks!
     
  16. ABVA

    ABVA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I picked up my MS 100D yesterday and want to install the Blackvue 650S dual Channel. I installed Blackvue 550 Dual Channel in my 2013 Model S which was a breeze by tapping the fuses in frunk.
    I know, quiet a lot has changed since 2013. Has anyone installed the Magic Pro to activate parking mode on Blackvue 650S? Which fuses to tap for constant and accessory power etc. Any guidance is sincerely appreciated.
     
  17. RunDeep

    RunDeep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  18. ABVA

    ABVA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
  19. Mayo

    Mayo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Corona CA
    You don't need the magic pro. The Tesla has a constant 12v above the rear vew mirror YouTube has a great video on how to install the Blackvue . I followed it and did my own install the Video is well made by another member BigTonyTones it is titled Blackvue DR650S 2 Channel Tesla install
     
    • Informative x 1
  20. ABVA

    ABVA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Thank you Mayo.
    So it can be safely concluded that MagicPro is not necessary for the Parking Mode, it's only functionality is to provide protection against drain on 12v battery. If that is the case, I will not worry about adding the MagicPro. However, I will still add an inline fuse. Any recommendations on amperage of inline fuse.
     

Share This Page