TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Vendor How To: Perform Hard Reset on Tesla Model 3

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by MountainPass, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. MountainPass

    MountainPass Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Hello friends!

    Sasha's music streaming stopped working for a full day last week, and after we got it back up and running using this procedure we realized it would be selfish to not share it with all of you.

    This guide will walk you through how to perform a hard reset on your Tesla Model 3, and hopefully, save you a trip to the SC!

    Please let us know what issues you were having and if this helped you resolve them, we would love to hear it.

    Tesla Model 3 Hard Reset

    - Jesse
     
    • Helpful x 4
    • Informative x 2
  2. PooshdM3

    PooshdM3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    did you first try a hard reset in service/safety on the screen, and then powering the car off? Just curious if that too would have worked?
     
  3. MountainPass

    MountainPass Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    We would recommend trying that first since it is very easy to do. If you are still having trouble, this is the next step to take.
     
  4. sduck

    sduck Mr. Duck

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    I don't think this accomplishes anything more than just powering off the car and waiting 3-5 minutes does. Of course, many people don't actually know how to do that either.
     
    • Love x 1
  5. UKNOWINVU2

    UKNOWINVU2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario, GTA
    Is it not easier to do a hard reset by going to service and maintenance and powering off or holding down both thumb wheels while pressing the brake?
     
  6. samk579

    samk579 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Does it reset back to original software or stay the same to whatever updated?
     
  7. kbecks13

    kbecks13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,883
    Location:
    SoCal
    So are there three levels of reset? I know there is the "press both buttons on wheel" for soft reset and then "press both buttons on wheel WITH brake pressed" for a more aggressive reset and now this is the "RESET ALL THE THINGS" reset?
     
  8. Randy Spencer

    Randy Spencer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,808
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    I believe this is the "letting the car go to sleep" reset. I have had a few issues so far where I needed to turn off the power rail which happens when the car goes to sleep overnight. I posted elsewhere about a time when I was trying to Supercharge and got a Service Required message instead. I was in the middle of the desert and not near service. I called Tesla and they had me power off my phone, then power off the car and get out. Walk around for 20 minutes (I waited for food at McDonald's). When I came back the car worked again. The reason to power off the phone is so it won't wake the car before it has gone to sleep. I think they had me lock it with the card, but I don't remember.

    I had previously not known about the power-off reset and had to wait overnight for the car to sleep so it would accept a charging cable after a hickup at my local Supercharger. Couldn't unplug and I didn't know about the manual release. I spent hours on the phone with Tesla. But, the next morning all was well. When this power rail turns off, all the things that get power from it are effectively reset. It is possible that unplugging the power gives you an even greater level of reset, so maybe 4 levels to reset to try.

    I did speak to the Manager at a Service Center who I asked about using the brakes during a two thumb reset and he claimed to never to have heard of it. I have never found a difference between the two kinds of resets other than not being able to do the brake reset while driving. I wonder if it's real. Perhaps there are only three levels...
     
  9. VBXATL

    VBXATL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I was at my local service center today and mentioned pulling the HV connector to fix a no audio problem I had been having. Luckily a recent firmware update had resolved things.

    He mentioned to me that if I was going to go this route (which he would neither recommend or not recommend ;-) ) that he would leave it disconnected for at least five minutes before plugging it back in. Otherwise the car has been known to get stuck in a reboot loop.

    Pulling the 12v and the HV connector completely powers off the car. It’s like pulling the plug on your computer as oppose to just rebooting it.
     
    • Like x 1
  10. MountainPass

    MountainPass Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    RESETPTION

    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny x 4
  11. RobbL

    RobbL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Does the reset involving power cause all custom settings to return to default?
     
  12. Randy Spencer

    Randy Spencer Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    2,808
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    I did have Tesla offer to do a FACTORY reset when I accidentally hit the thumbs down button on the song Tesla Girls by OMD. They said it was the only way to undo what I had done. It isn't clear what that does or how it's done, but every reset I have done so far (I didn't do the Factory one) has left me with the exact same settings as before the reset.
     
  13. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19,112
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    Jesse, thank you for your post. However, when I tap on that link I get a new browser window that is...blank. I am using an iPad.

    It would be greatly appreciated if, instead of linking to a page on your company website, you would show your reset instructions in a post in this thread. That way everyone can see it and it will be searchable using the TMC search function.

    Thank you.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC