Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Newbie Question: Menu turning blue during autopilot signals what?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi,

I am new to Tesla. I have a Model 3 AWD and ran Auto Pilot for the first time. Things were going well for a while. I had my hand on the steering wheel with my heart in my mouth of course. Everything was fine for about 5 miles and then the screen started turning blue. This was just above the left sided title bar. It started to get more blue and then bells chimed. I wrestled to get back control of the wheel - something I learned could have been avoided had I pressed brake or flipped the gear stick upward - eitther of these would have canceled autopilot. I have no idea what the deep blue screen stands for.
If anyone could enlighten me that would be great.

Hi,

I am new to Tesla. I have a Model 3 AWD and ran Auto Pilot for the first time. Things were going well for a while. I had my hand on the steering wheel with my heart in my mouth of course. Everything was fine for about 5 miles and then the screen started turning blue. This was just above the left sided title bar. It started to get more blue and then bells chimed. I wrestled to get back control of the wheel - something I learned could have been avoided had I pressed brake or flipped the gear stick upward - eitther of these would have canceled autopilot. I have no idea what the deep blue screen stands for.
If anyone could enlighten me that would be great.
It’s telling you to put your hands on the wheel, but if they were, you might have been applying equal weight to each side of the wheel, balancing it out. Try just one hand, or wiggle the wheel slightly next time, to make sure it senses some torque.

Reactions: Tz00