TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

"Tire Pressure Monitor Service Required" Error Message

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by JohnGarziglia, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The cars are now 6 to 8 years old. Past due time for the batteries in the sensors to start failing, across the entire fleet. I just all four of mine replaced.
     
  2. scotty2541

    scotty2541 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    I would agree at 8 years. Maybe one tire sensor has failed... the 2.x system will just give you a fault of everything and not any details. but if one has died, then replace all 4. 8 years on battery powered sensors is pretty good.
     
    • Like x 1
  3. DrivingTheFuture

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    804
    Location:
    United States
    I am having the same issue in my Chevrolet Volt (2014) ... Perhaps its connected somehow? Is this yet another secret that's been covered up by GM?
     
  4. dhrivnak

    dhrivnak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    NE Tennessee
    While a similar issue I am not sure it is a cover up. It seems that TPMS have little batteries in the sending units. So every 5-8 years they will need replaced. Annoying but not unexpected. But I am willing to bet any tire store can replace the Volt where Tesla has not made this an option for us.
     
  5. moezilla

    moezilla Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Mill Valley, CA
    Here is a very amusing fix from the Lotus board: "Here's my TPMS fix. I decided not to epoxy the sensors in the wheels as suggested. I took a piece of 3" PVC pipe and drilled a hole for one of the sensors at the half way point of the tube. I then mounted that sensor in the tube with the stem sticking out and bolted the sleeve down tight (use a little silicone to ensure seal). I then used PVC glue and put end cap on one end of the tube. Then placed the other 3 sensors in the tube with a little bubble wrap (after all I'm not making a rattle). Then I removed the needle from the valve sticking out and glued on the other end cap on. When everything was dry (wait 24 hrs - don't get impatient), I replaced the needle in the valve, filled the tube to 40 psi, placed it in the trunk with velcro and sha-bang, the TPMS light when out."
    I am not sure if the sensor is the same as the Elisse / Exige - Lotus Saab TPMS 13227143
     
    • Funny x 1
  6. moezilla

    moezilla Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Mill Valley, CA
  7. slcasner

    slcasner Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Now I'm getting the TPMS error, too. So I guess it would have been wise to request sensor replacement when I had all four tires done not too long ago. It will be a while until I replace tires again.
     
  8. Stefan T

    Stefan T Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have TPMS hardwere error on my now and the car not equpt with that option
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC