Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

how can we encourage tesla to give better audible alert of AP status: full, distance keeping, or off

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
If someone can help me push this to Elon/tesla or whatever best channels outside of reporting it to tesla tech support who told me they agreed and had gotten people asking for the same, that would be appreciated:

I'm a pilot, I know about automation in planes and/or the issue of two pilots flying all the way to things like the fatal crash of AF447 and others, or none flying each thinking the other one is, causing other obvious problems, or misunderstanding of what parts of plane automation are still active, or not, from autopilot to autothrottles or autobrakes and so forth. Each have caused deaths and aviation has taken those seriously by making it more and more clear who is doing what, or not

In the meantime, Tesla has a few beeps, which can be missed, and weird modes like AP lane following disengages but distance following is still on, making you think the car is still driving, but not really, or being able to engage distance following hoping that lane keeping is on too, but it's not.
The little icon on the top of the screen is useless, sorry, you're not looking at that when you're supposed to be looking out the window.
I've even had problems where I had AP on and thought it was in FSD mode, but it was not, so it drove straight and missed turns. Not a true safety issue, but annoying nonetheless.