Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Speed restrictor -July changes

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I’m keen to get people’s opinion on the up and coming changes as described here, although I have a suspicion that this article has been around for some time and just the date changed.

Last edited:
Are that many people not able to just get a feel for your speed and know what your doing with staring at the speedo all day long? The need for speed limiters honestly has always baffled me.

I don't need a speedo to know i'm doing 30. You just get used to how fast things pass you by. Or at least I always have. I drive for a living so maybe thats an advantage but for as long as I can remember its been this way.

Reactions: Durzel
Are that many people not able to just get a feel for your speed and know what your doing with staring at the speedo all day long? The need for speed limiters honestly has always baffled me.

I don't need a speedo to know i'm doing 30. You just get used to how fast things pass you by. Or at least I always have. I drive for a living so maybe thats an advantage but for as long as I can remember its been this way.
*Need* no but then again, there never used to be cameras littered everywhere, just waiting for that one time when you accidentally happened to exceed the limit.
Or as it's more common these days, overgrown foliage obscuring what speed signage there is left such that it's accidentally missed.
TS&GDR now only requires sufficient information for a careful and competent driver in many cases, whereas previously it required 100% correct signage. We're often now in limbo as to what the speed limit might be, camera enforced., with it up to the court to decide if the signage was sufficient, if you dare.
I'll take an aid thanks, you would have a choice not to use it.