TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Firmware 7.1

Discussion in 'Model S' started by NOLA_Mike, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,560
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    Welcome to the forums!

    If you just mean that the default has changed you can, of course, change that back. It could have been something unintended during the update.

    If you're suggesting that your car is still set to charge at 40, but is only actually charging at 30, others have reported similar things, but at least one person noted that eventually the amps ramped all the way up to the full 80 amps they were expecting.

    Edit: Just go back and read the last couple of pages in this thread, and I think you'll see what I mean.
     
  2. JD2424

    JD2424 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Bayarea, ca
    Thanks! It was the former of what you mentioned. I was able to change it back to 40 but was curious why it changed to 30
     
  3. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,560
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    Happy to help!

    You'll find that occasionally a firmware update will randomly change things for no apparent reason. They'll also occasionally "break" random things, also for no apparent reason. If anything has seemed to stop working after a firmware update, you should try rebooting the 17" display, and also the instrument cluster, as doing one or both often resolve those minor issues.
     
  4. MarcG

    MarcG Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,121
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I haven't been on WiFi since early this morning but got the notification late tonight that I now have the latest maps (first ever in over 14 months of ownership!)

    So it seems as though the download occurred over WiFi last night (I highly doubt the 2.12.126 firmware is over 3 GB...) but it took a while to install.

    image.jpeg
     
  5. Gr8pursuit

    Gr8pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    So. California
    Updated to 2.12.126 and now cannot activate summon with key fob. Holding down the roof part of the fob only locks the car now. Did something change? Anyone else have this problem?
     
  6. bmah

    bmah Moderator, Model S/X, California Forums

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,619
    Location:
    Lafayette, CA, USA
    Please read the release notes...you need to reactivate Summon.
     
  7. Gr8pursuit

    Gr8pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    So. California
    I did, didn't work. I even turned it off and back on and still nothing. Tried both key fobs, nada.
     
  8. bmah

    bmah Moderator, Model S/X, California Forums

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,619
    Location:
    Lafayette, CA, USA
    Interesting. I haven't seen this problem, although I only tried it one time (successfully) since updating.
     
  9. ilikechowfan

    ilikechowfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    I think you need to go through some of the summon options on the app on your phone. Release notes said something about having expanded summon capabilities (summon via fob, auto'un-summon' aka park ater pushing park button twice)only if you select NO for having to have to hold down the button in the phone app.
     
  10. neptune2000

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    if you want the old behavior, you also have to set REQUIRE CONTINUOUS PRESS to NO.

    and autolink with Summon also has to be rechecked.
     
  11. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Grouchy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    #1611 NOLA_Mike, Feb 27, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2016
    Yep, mine no longer "ramps up" from the halfway point. It has always paused for a few seconds at the mid point and then continued to ramp up to the set point.

    Circumstances were that I was charging at my normal rate (240V, 50A) when I started the update. Upon completing the update charging resumed at 25A. I've tried rebooting the center screen, killing power to the HPWC and restarting - nothing I've tried has cured it.

    My HPWC is on an 80A circuit so it is dip switch limited to 64A charging. If I change the car settings to 64A it charges at 32A. If I change it to 50A it charges at 25A. Half rate...
     
  12. andrewket

    andrewket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,699
    You started the update while charging? I bet you hit an edge case where the slave charger didn't update its firmware. Now the master and slave aren't talking, and you're essentially down to one charger. Just a guess. I bet a reinstall would fix it.
     
  13. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Grouchy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Yes - started while charging. I thought about stopping the charge before starting the update but then thought of all the people who schedule their charging for the middle of the night and also schedule their updates for the middle of the night and thought "...I can't be the first one who started an update while charging...".

    But I agree with your assessment and have sent an email to [email protected] describing my issue with the hope they will either send a remote charging system reset or restage the update to install again.

    Mike
     
  14. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Voltage makes me tingle.

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,236
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    I charge on a NEMA 14-50 at 40A and installed the update yesterday evening. I noticed that last night it took 4 hrs, 35 mins to recharge vs my usual 3 hrs, so I think I was bumped down to 30A by the update as well. Will verify later.
     
  15. DCGOO

    DCGOO Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1615 DCGOO, Feb 27, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2016
    Yup. The is exactly what my car does with the new code (2.12.126). Wall connector set to 64, the max current I can draw is 32. I opened a trouble ticket with he help desk, while charging. They logged in to my car, and could see both the requested rate, and the fact it was charging at half that. They had me change the rate while I was on the phone with them. It was NOT charging during the update itself.

    I pulled the UMC out of the trunk and tried that. It works fine @40 amps

    It looks like a dual charger Ooops to me. I would encourage folks noticing similar behavior to open a ticket.
     
  16. BertL

    BertL Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,006
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    I am not having this problem after the update. As was stated, you have to read the release notes closely and do two things:

    1. Turn Controls/Settings/Driver Assistance/Autopark/Summon = ON
    2. THEN select the Summon Customize Button and if you want the FOB to control Summon, set Require Continuous Press to NO
    Controlling Summon via FOB then works fine and just like previous releases on my S90D. Good luck.
     
  17. DCGOO

    DCGOO Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I was not charging during the update. I called them while I WAS charging. They could see that I had requested 50, but was only getting 25. They asked me to adjust the rate, but I only could get half the requested value. My WC is set to 64, so the max I can run now is 32. :(
     
  18. NOLA_Mike

    NOLA_Mike Grouchy

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,190
    Location:
    Hammond, LA
    Good to hear I'm not the only one - sounds like you and I have nearly identical settings/situation. Let us know if you hear back from them or get any resolution and I will do the same. All I've done so far is sent a report to [email protected] - if I don't hear back from them soon I will likely call the support line too.

    Mike
     
  19. Gr8pursuit

    Gr8pursuit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    So. California
    Summon works now on the fob. Thanks all for the replies.
     
  20. DCGOO

    DCGOO Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Further, I discovered if I request anything 40 or below, I get what I request. But anything above 40 is cut in half.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC