Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all,

I'm a noob waiting on my CPO 2014 blue Model S. I'm trying to decide where to install my Wall Connector. I've already read prior threads on this, including viewing awesome pics like the one below by @systemcrashed and other pics by @CmdrThor and @pchan (thanks to all!).

I'm looking to try the same thing but have only 9-10" of room between my 2 garage doors. I'd prefer to install a 24' HPWC here if possible, as I will have a Model S in one garage and a future Model 3 (to replace my wife's Leaf) in the other. Do any of you think I will be able to make it work if I use the Gecko toe hose holders?

The other option is to install it on the right side of the garage. Unfortunately, this might lead to one vehicle running over the cord accidentally if the other is plugged in and charging. I'm guessing Tesla wouldn't recommend running over the charging cable. Thanks ahead of time for your collective help.

Attachments

• IMG_1163.JPG
    IMG_1163.JPG
    404.2 KB · Views: 1,776
The HPWC itself will fit, but the cable doesn't coil very tight because it's quite hefty.
Putting it between the doors will probably leave loops of the cable hanging out the sides, plus the charge plug goes into the side of the unit, so will also stick out.

I had my charging installed between garage doors before I moved & will do that again on the house I'm building. Putting on the post between allowed me to put the car in either bay and it reached whether I backed the car in (a habit) or pulled straight in.

If you have room, I'd do that. (Obviously I'd do that again, since I am. :) )

-- update: